Tags

, , , , , ,

It hasn’t really sunk in, yet. And, it probably won’t. Not until Monday at 8 when I walk through the doors of my new job, and I find myself surrounded by people I don’t know rather than the family I had created and chosen. 

Switching jobs wasn’t a hard decision. I knew it’s what needed to be done. I needed to think of me for once. I have a hard time doing that, but I did it. I did something selfish because I knew I needed to better myself, to grow and learn new things. And, as much as I was growing at the bank, I wasn’t bettering myself. And my new job would be teaching me new trades, helping me along the path of life.

The girls I worked with were like the family I got to chose. I let them in, allowed them to get close to me and see the darkest parts and the wondrous parts of my soul. They knew me better than anyone probably could. 

K is like my mom. At almost 60, she was awesome and understanding. She gave advice when I needed it and a shoulder when I needed to vent. She always wanted to know what was going on in my life. I told her about all my exploits. The good and the bad. She knew me the best.

C is like the older sister I never had. She had been through much of the same things as I, and it was easy to relate to her. She was 30 and had a family of 6. I knew what a busy family was like, growing up in a family of 5. I told her everything, too, and I knew she always had my back. 

A is me. We are the same person; it’s almost scary. We share the same beliefs, the same personalities. It’s amazing to have someone understand everything about you. I have known her the least amount of time, but I already feel like we are best friends and destined for a bright future together.

These three people have taken a firm hold of my heart, and I hope with all of my being that we are able to continue seeing each other and talking with one another.

This chapter of my life may be over and I may be moving on to the next, but that doesn’t mean the characters don’t come with me.

Image